RHS Gladstone Book Prize – The 2020 Shortlist

by | May 12, 2020 | RHS Work | 0 comments

The 2020 Shortlist for the RHS Gladstone Prize is announced today.

“Selecting a shortlist from the very strong field of monographs submitted was no easy task. The titles shortlisted were chosen because they either pushed the boundaries of their own areas of specialism or because they transcended a single field of enquiry. The shortlisted works present a rich cross-section of current historical scholarship.”

 – Prof. Thomas Otte, Gladstone Prize Committee Chair


The Prize offers £1,000 to the author of a work of history not primarily related to British history.


The 2020 shortlist recognises the scholarly contribution and quality of six excellent history monographs published in 2019.

The winner will be announced in July.


About the Prize


The Gladstone Prize is one of the Royal Historical Society’s two annual book awards.  

To be eligible for the prize the book must:

  • be its author’s first solely written history book;
  • be on any historical subject not primarily related to British history;
  • be an original and scholarly work of historical research by an author who received their doctoral degree from a British or Irish university;
  • have been published in English during the calendar year 2019.

The Gladstone Memorial Trust made it possible for the RHS to launch the Gladstone History book prize in 1998, in honour of the value William Gladstone placed on the study of history.

Find out more about the Prize, and its previous winners, on the RHS website.

News of the Whitfield Prize coming soon!

Follow This Blog


* indicates required