RHS Gladstone Book Prize – the 2021 Shortlist

by | May 19, 2021 | General | 0 comments

The Shortlist for the 2021 RHS Gladstone Prize is announced


This year, as in past competitions, the Gladstone Prize has attracted an outstanding range of submissions on the Atlantic World, British imperial, and trans-national contexts. The field was so strong that the committee shortlisted eight first monographs, in recognition of their originality, rigorous research, and vigorous contribution to past and current debates.

 – Professor Barbara Bombi, Gladstone Prize Committee Chair

The Prize offers £1,000 to the author of a work not primarily related to British or Irish history.


The 2021 shortlist recognises the scholarly contribution and quality of eight excellent history monographs published in 2020.


Video introductions to the shortlisted books are also now available.


The winner of the 2021 Gladstone Prize will be announced at the annual RHS Awards Ceremony for Publishing, Teaching and Research.

Held online at 5.30pm on Friday 23 July. More details soon.

About the Prize

The Gladstone Prize is one of the Royal Historical Society’s two annual book awards.   To be eligible for the prize the book must:

  • be its author’s first solely written history book;
  • be on any historical subject not primarily related to British history;
  • be an original and scholarly work of historical research by an author who received their doctoral degree from a British or Irish university;
  • have been published in English during the calendar year 2020.

The Gladstone Memorial Trust made it possible for the RHS to launch the Gladstone History book prize in 1998, in honour of the value William Gladstone placed on the study of history. Find out more about the Prize, and its previous winners, on the RHS website.


Don’t forget

Shortlist for the 2021 RHS Whitfield Prize is also now available

Follow This Blog


* indicates required