2017 Prize Winners

by | Nov 1, 2017 | RHS Work

RHS President Margot Finn (front left) with (from left) Ashley Atkins, Claire Eldridge, William Cavert, Elly Robson, Felicity Hill, Stephanie Mawson, Alice Taylor.

At a reception following the Prothero Lecture on 7 July, RHS President Margot Finn announced the 2017 RHS Prize Winners.

The Whitfield Prize is awarded to:

Claire Eldridge, for From empire to exile History and memory within the pied-noir and harki communities, 1962–2012published by Manchester University Press.

The Gladstone Prize is awarded jointly to:

William Cavert, for The Smoke of London Energy and Environment in the Early Modern Citypublished by Cambridge University Press;


Alice Taylor, for The Shape of the State in Medieval Scotland, 1124-1290published by Oxford University Press.

The Alexander Prize is awarded to:

Stephanie Mawson, for ‘Convicts or Conquistadores?: Spanish Soldiers in the Seventeenth-Century Pacific’, Past and Present, vol. 232 (2016), 87-125.

The Rees Davies Prize is awarded to:

Ashley Atkins for his University of St Andrew’s dissertation, ‘The authorship, function, and ideological origins of the Claim of Right of 1989’.

The David Berry Prize is awarded to:

Malcolm Petrie, for his essay ‘Fear of a “Slave State”: Individualism, Libertarianism, and the Rise of Scottish Nationalism c.1945-c.1979’.

2018 Prizes:
Information on how to apply and deadlines for next year’s prizes is available on our website here.

Follow This Blog


* indicates required